Instagram Button Facebook Page Button Twitter Button

Our mission is to grow healthier, safer, and stronger communities by creating urban parks and community gardens that remedy the critical lack of green and recreational spaces in greater Los Angeles' underserved neighborhoods.


History & Future


The Los Angeles Neighborhood Land Trust was founded in 2002 to address Los Angeles's park inequities. We focus our efforts exclusively in communities of color that have little to no access to green space.

Los Angeles currently ranks 74th out of the 98 largest cities in the country for the number of people living within a 1/2 mile of a park. While there is a significant lack of green and recreational space throughout Los Angeles, low-income communities of color fare much worse. A 2016 countywide analysis of green space found that communities with very high or high park need were 90% predominately communities of color. For 15 years we have aimed to change this dynamic and have added nearly 13 acres of accessible green space to Los Angeles by helping create 27 urban parks and community gardens. We serve over 380,000 Angelenos living with a 10-minute walk of our green spaces. By 2019, we will complete four additional parks and gardens, adding nearly 15 additional acres of green space to Los Angeles County.

Our successful greenspace development model engages residents from the beginning of our design process, through construction and ultimately the stewardship of the parks and gardens we create. To ensure the long-term impact of our efforts, we are working towards equitable greenspace development through grassroots policy reform.



Staff

Tamika L. Butler, Executive Director

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 102 Email: tbutler@lanlt.org


Advancement

Madeline Miller, Development and Communications Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 122 Email: mmiller@lanlt.org

Jordan Grimaldi, Development and Communications Intern

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 120 Email: jgrimaldi@lanlt.org

Lorena A. Garcia, Office Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 100 Email: officemanager@lanlt.org


Organizing

Keshia Sexton, Director of Organizing

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 103 Email: ksexton@lanlt.org

Jose Gutierrez, Community Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 110 Email: jgutierrez@lanlt.org

Megan Laird, Gardens and Youth Program Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 112 Email: mlaird@lanlt.org


Park Development

Mark Glassock, Director of Special Projects

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 104 Email: mglassock@lanlt.org

David de la Cruz, Project Manager

Projects in development: Golden Age Park, Normandie Pocket Park
Phone: 213-572-0188, Ext 116 Email: ddelacruz@lanlt.org

Hope Escario, Project Manager

Projects in development: Mayberry Skate Park, Wishing Tree Park
Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 117 Email: hescario@lanlt.org

Brenda Yancor, Park & Garden Resources Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 123 Email: byancor@lanlt.org


Board of Directors

OFFICERS

Damon Nagami
Board Chair

Lindsey Angelats
Vice Chair

Matthew Steinberg
Secretary

Jack Haley
Treasurer

 

MEMBERS

Daniel Abrams
Beverley Cole
Ben Howell
Charlie Rose
Winston Stromberg
Ed Sykes
Belinda Vega

Advisory Board


Michael Condon, Jr.
Danielle Cornwell
Glen Dake
Cecilia Estolano
Belinda Faustinos
Regina Freer
Gilda Haas
Clive Hoffman
Michael Kaufman
Elizabeth Leanse Waybill
Anastasia Loukaitou-Sideris
John Mack
Gerard McCallum
Jerilyn Mendoza
Carl Muhlstein
Thomas Safran
Bruce Saito
Marta Segura
Erin Tanenbaum
Amy Wakeland
Mark Walther
Elizabeth Whitted Dawson